top of page

Best father's day project

Today was one of the most inspirational and creative days in both my personal and professional lives. I was so happy to take part of a special Father's Day project led by photographers Shiran Itzhaki and Heftzi Elgar of Fresh Frame studio.

When I was first asked to style this project, I was immediately intrigued. The concept was simple...styling a gay family in a retro 50's look, taking inspiration from the rural South. A seeming contradiction in terms which helps you appreciate how far we came in supporting LGBT rights in this country, and how far we still need to go. I immediately created a styling board which revolved around a 1950's pickup truck, but finding a vintage pickup truck proved easier said then done! After literally knocking on strangers' doors and inquiring about the cars parked in their driveways, I was able to find the perfect vintage centerpiece for my vision. As I was adding more pieces to my board, the news broke out of Orlando which highlighted this project in a completely different light. This was becoming more then just a styling project, it was personal. It was a way for me to show the world a gay family that stands beautiful and proud despite this senseless hate. To share photos of two committed and wonderful gay fathers, and spread some beauty amid the Orlando ugliness. I am so proud of the final product. I came to the shoot sick and tired, but any pain I might have felt this morning was completely swept away as soon as we started working. I absolutely loved every minute of this shoot! As always, I would love to hear your comments and feedback. Happy Father's Day!


Follow Us
  • Grey Instagram Icon
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
bottom of page